Respond to the Devastating Earthquake that Hit Haiti

Many may be considering how you  might respond to the devastating earthquake that hit Haiti earlier this week.  Below is a list sent out by the Association of International Education Administrators (AIEA) that includes direct links to many of the charitable organizations responding to the crisis.

FROM AIEA

Disastrous Earthquake in Haiti – On Tuesday, January 12, 2010, a 7.0 magnitude earthquake hit PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti shortly before 5:00 p.m. that evening. There is no estimate as to how many have been pronounced dead or wounded, but an American Red Cross spokeswoman warned that “up to 3 million people may have been affected.” For more information, please visit CNN’s Web site: http://edition.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/americas/01/12/haiti.earthquake/index.html

How can you help? The following is a list of organizations that are providing direct relief to Haiti:

Action Against Hunger: http://www.actionagainsthunger.org/where-we-work/haiti
American Red Cross:  http://www.redcross.org/
Beyond Borders: http://www.beyondborders.net/index.php
CARE: http://www.care.org/
Direct Relief International: http://www.directrelief.org/EmergencyResponse/2010/EarthquakeHaiti.aspx
Doctors Without Borders: http://doctorswithoutborders.org/
HED: www.hedprogram.org/
International Medical Corps: https://www.imcworldwide.org/SSLPage.aspx?pid=878
International Relief Teams: http://www.irteams.org/index.htm
Meds and Food for Kids: http://mfkhaiti.org/
Mercy Corps: http://www.mercycorps.org/
Operation USA: http://www.opusa.org/featured/news-release-operation-usa-prepares-emergency-aid-in-response-to-earthquakes-in-haiti/
Oxfam America: https://secure.oxfamamerica.org/site/Donation2?df_id=3560&3560.donation=form1
Partners in Health: http://www.pih.org/home.html
Save the Children: http://www.savethechildren.org/
Stop Hunger Now: https://secure3.convio.net/shn1/site/Donation2?1420.donation=form1&df_id=1420&JServSessionIdr004=dz2m7yil82.app305a
UNICEF: www.secure.unicefusa.org/site/Donation2
World Concern: http://www.worldconcern.org/haiti-earthquake/
Yele Haiti: www.yele.org/

For those interested in helping immediately, simply text “HAITI” to “90999″ and a donation of $10 will be given automatically to the Red Cross to help with relief efforts, charged to your cell phone bill.

Or text “YELE” to “501501″ and a donation of $5 will be given automatically to Yele Haiti to help with relief efforts.

EmailFacebookTwitterLinkedInPinterest
Powered by WordPress | Designed by: Image Hosting | Thanks to MegaUpload Search, RapidShare Search and Internet TV