International Researchers Among the Romnes Faculty Honorees

Nine faculty have been honored with Romnes Faculty Fellowships.

The awards are given by the Graduate School and funded by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation. They recognize tenured faculty members who have attained tenure within the prior four years. Winners receive a $50,000 flexible research fund.

Among the recipients are:

Sara Guyer, English. Guyer received her Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, seven years ago, and has published 22 essays, reviews, and translations; delivered 44 lectures at some of the most prestigious venues in the United States and Europe; has co-edited a special issue of Diacritics; and published “Romanticism After Auschwitz.” On campus, Guyer co-organized the Mellon Workshop “In the Name of Difficult Words” and is director of the Center for the Humanities.

Francine Hirsch, history. Hirsch is an expert on Soviet history, with research and teaching interests in issues of empire, international relations, and human rights. Her first book, Empire of Nations: Ethnographic Knowledge and the Making of the Soviet Union, won several awards. She is currently writing about the role of the Soviets in the Nuremberg trials.

Jonathan Patz, population health sciences and the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies. Patz co-chaired the health expert panel of the U.S. National Assessment on Climate Change, and for the past 15 years he has been a lead author for the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with Al Gore. Patz is president of the International Association for Ecology and Health. His research and teaching focuses on sustainable public health solutions, primarily on the health effects of climate change, energy, and deforestation in the tropics.

Click here for the full list of winners.