New research awards announced to UW-Madison faculty, staff

CONTACT: Masarah Van Eyck, Director of Communications, Division of International Studies,, (608) 262-5590

Madison, WI – New research grants totaling nearly $140,000 have been awarded to UW-Madison faculty and staff, the Division of International Studies announced today.

The grants are being made possible through the International Institute with generous support from the Division of International Studies and a contribution from Global Studies for research circles and new initiatives.

According to Gilles Bousquet, the dean of International Studies and director of the International Institute, the grants will advance the University’s commitment to innovation in cross-regional research and graduate training, and expand linkages to scholars around the world.

The faculty and staff receiving awards are:

  • Myra Marx Ferree (Sociology, Women’s Studies) and Christine Ewig (Political Science, Women’s Studies) – three year grant of $63,150 for the Gender Equity Research Circle
  • Paul Hutchcroft (Political Science), Alfred McCoy (History), Francisco Scarano (History), and Michael Cullinane (Center for Southeast Asian Studies) – three year grant of $26,000 for the Empires in Transition Research Circle
  • Neil Whitehead (Anthropology), Severino Albuquerque (Spanish and Portuguese), and Tomislav Longinovic (Slavic Languages)– one year grant of $16,000 for the Sexuality and Violence – Cultures of Ethics, Law and Performance Research Circle
  • Aseema Sinha, Edward Friedman, and Scott Gehlbach (all professors of Political Science) – $5,000 for a 2007-2008 seminar on “Emerging Powers: Brazil, Russia, India, China”
  • Heinz Klug and Sumudu Atapattu (Law School and Global Legal Studies Center) $5,000 for a 2007-2008 seminar on “Law in Transitional Societies”
  • Yongming Zhou (Anthropology, Nelson Institute), Katherine Bowie (Anthropology, Women’s Studies), Ed Friedman (Political Science), Kirin Narayan (Anthropology, Women’s Studies), Zheng-yu Liu (Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, Environmental Studies) – $5,000 for a 2007-2008 seminar on biocultural diversity
  • Scott Straus (Political Science), Aili Tripp (Political Science, Women’s Studies) and Heinz Klug (Law) – $5,000 for a 2007-2008 human rights seminar
  • Jo Ellen Fair (Journalism and Mass Communication, International Studies) and Leigh Payne (Political Science) – $5, 000 for a “Trauma Tourism” seminar
  • Nancy Kendall (Environmental Studies, Educational Policy), Amy Stambach (Educational Policy, Anthropology) – $6,000 for distinguished lecture series
  • Center for East Asian Studies Development Grant – $16,000

The awards include funds for development of new initiatives in area, international, and global studies, as well as for year-long research seminars on particular themes or a featured lecturer to speak on a topic of interest to all Institute member programs.

Research circles are designed to create new forms of area knowledge that cross traditional regional and disciplinary borders. They join together groups of faculty, graduate students, and staff from various disciplines in the humanities and social sciences to advance research on particular intellectual themes of international relevance.